TEMPTATION

Image

This is what I got as the definition to the word, temptation when I looked it up from wikipedia, It is the desire to perform an action that one may enjoy immediately or in the short term but will probably later regret for various reasons: legal, social, psychological (including feeling guilt), health-related, economic, etc. In the context of religion, temptation is the inclination to sin. Temptation also describes the coaxing or inducing a person into committing such an act, by manipulation or otherwise of curiosity, desire or fear of loss.

Image

Now, as I look back, I realize that I was an obedient servant to temptation. It always has something good to offer and trust me, it knows how to sweeten the deal. If it could be a lawyer, very few would stand to trail since most would be sweet talked into not testifying.

But that doesn’t mean it is good. They say, too much of something is dangerous; well that’s what temptation offers. Too much. I personally have been tempted so many times, my best master, was television. I remember being stuck on that think from morning to evening to the following morning. At the end of the day, my eyes were exhausted if not aching, my neck was paining and not to mention, I had accomplished nothing at the end of the day. For the one with an acute conscious, it would disturb you for wasting time. They say time is precious, now I know what they mean; looking back, I wasted so much of it. Now that I am a little wiser, my temptation comes and to say the truth, sometimes, it nearly gets me but sometimes it does not. I realize what is about to happen and I say,”Hahahahahaha, temptation, that was a close one, you nearly got me there. Thank God for the little light that I got to see.”

 

If you look at my life, there was always a light; sometimes, it was dim and in others, it was bright. The question is, will you follow it? The light may not be as easy to reach, but when you do reach it, you feel at peace. Just try an remember anything you that you tried to achieve; from being the top position in your class or getting a good job. You worked hard for all of them. Life is all about working hard; people who live corrupt ways one day get caught and will be judged for it. It’s fun working hard for something. Personally, I find the challenge thrilling; the rush of getting something done, the staying up late to read, at the end of the day, I want to know the limits to my brain or my hard work.Image

Aren’t you tired of doing a routine of following the darkness of your life or in this case, being the servant of temptation? When I fall, in this case, my temptation is like a pot hole that tripped me, like a young child, I wake up, dust myself off and keep on moving because we are human. It is not easy, but you get to learn to do it. Just remember, baby steps. You may not get it the first time, but you will eventually.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

